Winter Flowerlandia

When I think of Christmas and all of the things that announce it, these things come to mind:

1. Everything peppermint and chocolate!
2. Really bad holiday-themed Larry Levinson romcoms on Lifetime. (“Single Santa Seeks Mrs. Claus” starring Steve Guttenberg, anyone?) To be fair, this one is a pretty recent addition to the list c/o my cousin Lisa.
3. Christmas cards.
4. Drag queen Rastafarian Santa!

Probably my favorite part of holiday decorating

Probably my favorite part of holiday decorating

5. Holiday shopping, naturally.

Speaking of holiday shopping (of course), I recently caved and purchased a pretty awesome dark floral blouse from H&M for around $15.

Blouse: H&M, Pants: Adriano Goldschmied, Jewelry: Gifts

Blouse: H&M, pants: Adriano Goldschmied, jewelry: gifts from family and friends

Now, I know that I should be abiding by my rules here, but it was only $15 and it was one purchase for myself. I don’t even feel guilty about having made the purchase; although, I did initially feel a little bit of guilt about not feeling guilty about having made the purchase. Who saw that one coming?

To be fair, I gave myself those two rules as guidelines to help me save money and feel less guilty about what I buy. So far, this plan has been working. I haven’t made any impulse purchases, and I haven’t spent money on anything that I might’ve subconsciously believed would hide or, at least, compensate for any inadequacies I might’ve perceived in myself.

Jewelry: gifts from family and friends.

Jewelry: gifts from family and friends.

Purple accents, like amethysts, play off of the purple and blue in the blouse.

Purple accents, like amethysts, play off of the purple and blue in the blouse.

On a technical note, this floral print blouse also has an interesting stripe pattern. Based on this, I thought it would be appropriate to pair it with some geometric accessories with more linear patterns and grooves. I also thought that a floral pattern was worthy of some romantic accessories, like my silver bracelet with the heart charm and the Celtic-style engraving or my floral brass and pearl earrings.

My brother bought these earrings at a flea market in Florence. They were supposedly inspired by the design of a pair of earrings worn by Caterina de' Medici.

My brother bought these earrings at a flea market in Florence. They were supposedly inspired by the design of a pair of earrings worn by Caterina de’ Medici.

Blouse: H&M, pants: Adriano Goldschmied, shoes: Tory Burch, jewelry: gifts from family and friends

Blouse: H&M, pants: Adriano Goldschmied, shoes: Tory Burch, jewelry: gifts from family and friends

Am I still a shopaholic? Let’s just say that I’m making great strides in my recovery.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Winter Flowerlandia

  1. thisismelly says:

    Love this outfit! Adriano Goldschmied are gorgeous and I love our accessories!

  2. Size J says:

    Thanks, Friends with Bivalves! I’m very satisfied with my decision. I’m especially excited to figure out how else I’ll wear it. I know that it would look fine with a suit or under a faux fur vest. Maybe I could even roll up the sleeves, throw on some shorts or a skirt with suspenders, and wear it with flatform oxfords… hmm…. the options are endless….

  3. Love it! Your ability to pair accessories so well never ceases to amaze me. And great job finding a shirt of that style/quality for only $15. H&M is great for finds like that, but even they will mark up tops like that from time to time. A great stylish purchase for a bargain price is always something to be proud of (and not feel guilty about!)

Leave a Reply

