Cape Tips from Little Green Riding Hood

If you’ve read my first post, you would know that I have been fortunate enough to inherit some beautiful clothes from my mother. If I had to describe her style, I would say that it seems like stuff one would pack to a British castle for a weekend of garden parties and dangerous dalliances in hedge mazes (read: pastels, paisley, pleats, charms and capes). Being the type of person who feels that every day should be lived like a movie or a fairy tale, I’m especially happy to be able to break out the green cape-coat set when it starts feeling a little nippy, and when I’m itching to meet a big bad wolf (just kidding — sometimes I just want to get a cup of coffee in town).

This cape and coat set belonged to my mother. It's 100% wool with a suede border.

This Loden cape and coat set belonged to my mother. It’s 100% wool with a suede border. Boots: Fratelli Rossetti

Despite having a red interior (there’s no lining), neither the cape nor the coat is reversible. Regardless, I think that the pop of red is really cute and rather festive! 🙂

Tips for wearing capes:

1. Look for cape-coat sets. You’ll get more bang for your buck, since you’ll essentially be getting two pieces of outerwear. I’ve worn each piece separately before, and they’ve worked with my outfit each time.
2. A long cape-coat set makes quite a statement, so pair it with simple, quality accessories in neutral colors to let it do the talking while still looking elegant.
3. Look for quality outerwear. Capes are generally very tasteful, and can add an element of luxury to any outfit. It’s important to keep in mind, however, that cheap quality materials will make the cape look anything but luxurious. Age and the signs of lesser quality are more apparent on longer capes like the one I’m wearing, which is why it’s very important for the capes to be made with good quality materials, like wool, silk, leather, suede, or a heavy duty cotton, at the very least. If you pick up a cape and it’s cotton-polyester-rayon-spandex blend, you’re better off leaving it on the rack. It won’t look so great after a couple of wears, so you will have wasted your money, even if we’re only talking $25.
4. Avoid wearing any non-waterproof capes in the rain or heavy snow. The water will weigh down the fabric, making the cape pretty cumbersome.

IMG_1297

IMG_1296

5. Wearing capes should always be FUN. So much fabric creates so much movement! It makes me want to pack up a picnic basket and head over to my grandmother’s house… in Genoa, Italy. I only wish I had a hood!

IMG_1289

Do you have a cool cape? Do you have any tips for wearing one? What other outerwear shapes do you like?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cape Tips from Little Green Riding Hood

  1. Closet Strategy says:

    I love the drama of that cape. The red and green are great contrasts, but it doesn’t look Christmas-y. Stunning!

    • Size J says:

      Thanks! It’s a bit of an uncommon thing to wear everyday, judging by some of the perplexed expressions on people’s faces, but I really like it! Plus, it’s very warm and yes, very dramatic.

Leave a Reply

