New Year, New Nails

I am aware that December 31st is like any other day of the year. If we did not celebrate a new year, the Earth would still rotate on its axis, the seasons would still change, and life would continue. There is one thing that does change, however, when we celebrate the coming of a new year: we suddenly gain a renewed sense of commitment to the future, and we enthusiastically embrace the promise of new beginnings! It’s healthy to have that marker of time that encourages us to cast aside our cynicism and jadedness and begin anew, with fresh perspectives and positive thinking.

I, for one, can appreciate this kind of celebration. I love the idea that New Year’s Eve is my annual “reset button”! I’m also a firm believer that the way in which one rings in the New Year will have an impact on the rest of the year (although I was cooing over my cousin’s sleeping baby the moment the clock struck midnight, that’s definitely no indication of how my life’ll change this year!). That being the case, I made it a point to go edgy this New Year’s Eve by giving my finger nails a little bit o’ sprucing up.

Check it out: I wore a pale blue Essie number with a coat of black OPI Shatter over it for a punk-chic, marbled look. I was a little apprehensive about trying Shatter, because I tend to find nail art tacky (even though I used to get acrylics back in high school. My, how times have changed!), but I wanted to jumpstart 2012 having tried something new.

Needless to say, I actually love the way the Shatter coat looks, especially against a light background! My friend, Daisy, saw how my manicure looked and immediately opted to have a coat applied over her lilac nails ( šŸ˜¦ I wish I had a picture!). Nothing says “Friends Forever” when you’re in your 20s like matching manicures. It’s official.

I love this look for many reasons:

1. This contrast of light color with a cracked dark foreground reminds me of a book cover designed by Edward Gorey (to quote Freddy Crane, “That’s so goth!”).
2. The Shatter acts as a topcoat, and it works pretty gosh darn well, too. The coat of Essie underneath my coat of Shatter took a couple of weeks to begin chipping!
3. As the manicure aged, the Shatter shattered even more, creating a more edgy look a la heroin chic. (NOTE: I am not encouraging heroin use. I just think style inspired by St. Mark’s Place street fashion circa 1987 is cool).

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

