I miss my summer dresses!

As much as I love fall and winter, I do miss my summer dresses. Last night, I was looking at pictures from this past summer and immediately, the memories of weddings, rooftop bars, parades, and Coney Island had me wishing I could ditch my warm puffer coat in favor of a breezy and diaphanous gown.

This look, especially, is my favorite from this past summer. I had worn this outfit to my cousin, Elvira’s wedding.

Dress and belt: BCBGMaxAzria Runway, bag: Lauren Merkin

I love the pleats, and the color combinations, and the boldness of the black borders, and the thigh-high side slits. The dress is actually pretty revealing, and shows a great deal of “side boob” if worn off the hanger as-is, which is why I wore black Spanx to make it more appropriate for a family affair (and to make firm whatever tends to look squishy, if you know what I’m sayin’…)

As you can see, the dress is too long, but I feel that this length added an element of drama and mystery to my look, kind of like Morticia Addams (after all, you never saw her feet… although Chas Addams had drawn her with tentacles in certain cartoons…). I was right to aim for mystery, though, because I did have a secret: I was wearing flats. I hate wearing high heels to weddings because I always like to spend a great deal of my time at receptions busting out a lot of cheesy, overzealous, overly enthusiastic, wannabe acrobatic dance moves. Heels are not exactly the right footwear choice for four hours of the Charlie Brown. So, yes, I found a way to still be wedding-appropriate, elegant, and comfortable by opting for the long dress-flat sandals combo that is always acceptable for summer weddings, even if I was never on the beach witnessing a couple named Rainbow and Moonbeam exchange their vows.

Dress: BCBGMaxAzria, my brothers: made by my parents

Almost exactly a year earlier, my cousin, Laura got married and had her reception at the Bronx Botanical Garden (it was so beautiful and romantic, and the weather, thankfully, was perfect). It was black tie, so we got all gussied up (I found the dress the day before the ceremony, of course). I started off the evening in a pair of strappy, gold Steve Madden heels only to be unable to bear them after a few hours, so I went to our car, and traded them for my flat gold sandals. Instant fix! Also, I love the combination of lavender and gold. I threw in a neon color for one crazy fun color palette (I wore Dante nail lacquer in Racy Red — a color that I’d love to purchase if it wasn’t for the fact that it’s not sold in stores or online except wholesale!).

I could post so many wedding outfit photos, but the fact of the matter is that it’s December. It’s cold, and it gets dark early. It can be depressing! But you know what makes winter better than summer? The fact that tomorrow morning, I will not only be thinking of which shoes and bag and accessories to wear with my dress or separates, but which coat to wear over my outfit, and which hat to wear with it, and which gloves, and which scarf…. winter provides us with more possibilities to be creative with fashion!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

