Haul – Winter Makeup!

I went on a shopping trip to Sephora and CVS two weekends ago and I purchased a few things that I need to create a new, wintry look! I also purchased the supplies I needed to create my black and gold reverse French manicure (a friend of mine referred to it as very Art Deco!).

Some “reviewlets” of the products I’ve tried since purchasing them (I’ll only include cons where applicable):

1. Sephora Collection Pro Lesson Smoky Eye Palette in brown and black
Pros: Shadows had a creamy finish which enhances sultriness, numbered instructions make palette great for novices, large mirror, comes with two different color schemes to create two different smoky eye looks, comes with black eyeliner pencil, on sale for $28.

2. Too Faced Shadow Insurance Anti-Crease Eyeshadow Primer
Pros: No applicator means more precise application (what could be more precise than your finger?) and implies a smaller carbon footprint (yay!). A pea-sized amount is enough to prime one entire eyelid and brow.

3. Revlon nail lacquer in Gold Coin
Pros: I love the shade. Surprisingly doesn’t chip that easily.

4. Milani nail lacquer in Black Magic
Pros: It’s a pretty decent black; it hasn’t turned green or gotten gnarly. It doesn’t bubble when applied.

5. Milani Nail Art Lacquer in Black Sketch
Pros: Comes with a very good precision brush. I used this brush left-handed to clean up the lines on my right hand (also my more dominant hand), and I didn’t screw up with this brush (I did, however, screw up using the other brushes, but that comes with the territory).

6. Nailene Perfect Tips French manicure nail guides
Pros: Inexpensive (they retail for $3.19 at CVS, but I got them at a discount). Three sheets with plenty of guides. Intuitive design (I mean, you just throw them onto your nail — it’s not difficult to understand).
Cons: Strong adhesive; it peeled some of my polish off. I don’t know if that means that the polish is weak or the adhesive is too strong…

I haven’t tried the Sephora Perfecting Lash primer, the Sephora nano eyeliner in Pure White, or the Purity facial cleanser yet, but I’ll get to it!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

